The Stronger Pull

On the first of January, I resolved to write every day of my sabbatical.  How am I doing so far?  It just so happens – and today is the first day I’ve done the calculation – that I have written exactly 32 “pieces” since the start of my sabbatical.  I’m on target.  I suppose that making a New Year’s resolution to do something every day that you have always loved – for me, writing anything at all — is not exactly heroic.  But I’m not hurting anyone.  If I am, please stop reading immediately, accept my sincerest apologies, and move on to Slate.com.

Why did I make this arguably narcissistic resolution in the first place?  Here’s a Rumi quote I saw in a yoga studio this week:  “Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.”  I suppose I am succumbing to that which I truly love.  I am letting myself be drawn by the stronger pull.  What do you truly love?  Can you feel the stronger pull?  I have lots of loves – my children, my husband, my mother, my father, my extended family, my friends, reading, writing, exercise, photography…  My best days are those on which I devote as many hours as I can to my loves.  The next time I examine my calendar, I will recite my new mantra:  “Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.”  Repeat.

One thought on “The Stronger Pull

Leave a Reply

