Light My Way

I believe in earthly angels.  I met one yesterday.  My daughter and I sat at the foot of his rocking chair, while he read Dr. Seuss’ Cat in the Hat.  He had a voice for Thing-One and Thing-Two that sounded like an auctioneer who sucked on a helium balloon.  He had an underwater Fish voice.  His Cat in the Hat even had a southern drawl.  You should have heard us laugh when his BUMP! made us JUMP.  He shined on all of us.

He’s not the first angel I’ve met.  My son’s teacher oozes love.  She has found the key to my son, and she has unlocked him.  Every time I ask her how she makes her magic – and there is no doubt it is magic – she just shakes me off, as if it were nothing at all.  From the moment I met her, I was drawn to her.  I wanted to learn from her, bask in her warmth, and absorb her peace.

I’ve just realized how many angels have lit my path.  A dear friend comes to mind.  Five years ago, she was generous enough to share with me exactly what she learned from one of the most trying times in her life.  She planted a seed in me.  I’ve never forgotten what she told me that day, and I continue to learn from it.

When you hike in the woods, the trail is often marked by a dash of white paint on the trunk of a tree.  When you are walking on a dirt path late at night, candles light your way home.  When airplanes hover, lights illuminate the landing strip.  Angels on earth are just like these.  They light our way.  When we look over our shoulders, they are the trail of breadcrumbs we’ve left behind.

Emily Dickinson wrote this beautiful poem about earthly angels:

If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.

Do you know any angels?  Now that my eyes are open, I’ll always be looking for them.

Leave a Reply

