The New Deal

I started this blog because I set a goal to write daily, for one year.  I quickly learned that writing daily and blogging daily are two different things.  Some of my writing is just for me — like journaling — and some can be shared publicly.  So I decided to post on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  That worked for a while.  I began blogging about poetry.  Although I had expected to write about the experience of taking a sabbatical and becoming a full-time mom, poetry is just what came out.  I began writing some of my own poems.  Then, in the middle of June, I enrolled in a poetry workshop.  It was challenging, inspiring, and completely wonderful.  I learned what makes a poem, how to read a poem, how to write a poem, how to know whether your poem burns, how to revise your poems, and how to push yourself into the deep recesses of a poem just when you think it’s finished.  I learned that I will never improve without a community of writers to give me constructive feedback.  And I learned that I’m just beginning my study of poetry.  In the midst of all this learning, my blog faded into the background.  I spent my writing time either working on my own poems or critiquing those of my fellow workshoppers.

So, here I am, on this Wednesday morning.  My poetry workshop ended last week, and I’ve fallen out of the habit of posting every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, as promised.  Not only that, I’ve fallen out of the habit of daily writing.  In fact, I’ve missed forty days of writing.  Time to make some adjustments.  I need to lighten my blog load.  From now on, I’m going to try posting one day a week, on Wednesdays.  Do we have a deal?  Let’s shake on it, and I’ll try to hold up my end of the bargain.

 

2 thoughts on “The New Deal

  1. Jen Pollack Bianco (@lax2nrt)

    Good for you, Ali! Blogging is incredibly time intensive and indeed, a different skill than writing daily. And Wednesday afternoons happen to be when internet traffic peaks– so you’ve chosen wisely. I’m glad you’re committed to writing and I think you should be enjoying the process rather than feeling forced to blog. Keep it up!

    Reply
    1. denisecordingley

      C’est l’ete….c’est le moment de s’amuser,de se reposer,et de profiter bien de la famille et des amis n’est-ce pas?
      Vive les vacances!!!!!
      bises xooxo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

