Counting Crow’s Feet

Sitting at a traffic light the other day, I was staring into the window of a local record store.  Studying the posters in the window, I found the band names so odd they sounded like practical jokes.  One of the band names was printed on a pattern that looked just like a Laura Ashley dress I wore in the eighties.  Now it’s hipster retro.  Suddenly it dawned on me that I am retro (minus hipster).

I was still licking my wounds on the night I began a poetry class.  Did I really expect to fit in on a college campus?  I was the only one without a tattoo.  When did tattoos become as common as t-shirts?  Also I was the only one with a small green alligator on my shirt.  A pink Izod (I just spelled it iZod!) is not cutting edge fashion for Gen Y.  Did I mention that I’m the only one who brushed my hair that day?  Last but not least, I do not have a Nalgene bottle.  Cradling my Starbuck’s cup in my hand, I might as well have painted “I don’t give a shit about the environment” on my forehead.

Am I a lost cause?  Should I surrender to my emerging gray hairs, and schedule my first cut-and-color appointment?  Is my enrollment in a poetry class the epitome of a mid-life crisis?  Probably.  It’s surprise how getting older creeps up on you and then – BAM! – smacks you over the head one day when you’re sitting at a traffic light.  I plan to have a sense of humor about it.  Just this morning, the darling, young instructor at Dailey Method was horrified by a playlist full of eighties songs.  She practically vomited a few bars into a Paula Abdul song.  You can’t really blame her, can you?  I’m sure I never put a Paula Abdul song on a mixed tape.  It’s okay, Gen Xers.  Let’s own our curled bangs and our leg warmers.  Let’s reminisce about the Milli Vanilli scandal.  Might as well make our crow’s feet dance.

Leave a Reply

