Everything I Needed to Know is Printed on My Tank Top

Tank Top
Turns out I didn’t need a one-year sabbatical.  All I had to do was open my dresser drawer and read the message printed on a ten-year-old tank top:

Do what you love Do what
you love Do what you love Do
what you love Do what you
love Do what you love
Do what you love Do what you love

I bought it from the same yoga studio where I first read this line written by Rumi: “Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.”  Lucky for me, some old soul wrote this on the chalkboard before sweating off ten pounds in vinyasa.

A few of you have asked, “What was the most important thing you learned from your sabbatical?”  Rumi wrote my answer: Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.  Actually, I’d like to make one minor revision:  Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pulls of all that you truly love.  It’s not as poetic, but Rumi wasn’t a mother.  I have lots of loves:  my family, my friends, writing, learning, feminism, exercise, and art.  For the last year, I’ve enjoyed the luxury of letting myself be drawn by all my pulls.  What happened?  The skies didn’t part.  There was no lightning bolt.  There was no grand vision.  No earth-shattering moment.  It was better than all of that:  I woke up every morning feeling happy, excited and grateful.  For three-hundred and sixty-five days, I woke up feeling lighter.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  So what happens now?  I’ve started the next chapter.  I’m exploring a new kind of work, in a new field.  I have another set of New Year’s Resolutions.  I have my health, my family, and my friends.  But I don’t have all the answers.  I screw up daily.  I make mistakes.  I fumble.  But I’m on the path.

One thought on “Everything I Needed to Know is Printed on My Tank Top

  1. Bill Karnovsky

    Love it.

    We wake up in a room,

    Walk around a bit

    And end up in a smaller one

    But we are so much larger.

    Than before.

       I am sooooo glad you had this past year.

    Best,

    Bill 

       Bill Karnovsky, Owner    Rug and Art Tent Sales, LLC    3411 Robinson Ave.    Austin, TX   78722           727 741-7912  Cell   

    Reply

Leave a Reply

